Gibbs Law Group

Speaker Bio

Karen is a nationally-recognized mass tort attorney with more than twenty years of experience in federal and state litigation. Courts throughout the country have appointed Karen to serve in leadership positions including Lead Counsel, Liaison Counsel and Plaintiff Steering Committee in some of the largest pharmaceutical and device mass tort cases. Karen currently serves in leadership positions in the Taxotere Litigation (federal court) Zoloft Birth Defect Litigation (federal and California state courts), Transvaginal Mesh Litigation (federal and California state courts), Fosamax Femur Fracture Litigation (California state court), Lexapro/Celexa Birth Defect Litigation (Missouri state court).

Karen is particularly focused on women’s health issues and sexual abuse claims, including a current Boy Scouts of America sexual abuse lawsuit investigation involving claims of abuse by scoutmasters, troop leaders and other adults affiliated with the Boy Scouts of America.  She also represents women suffering permanent baldness following breast cancer chemotherapy treatments with Taxotere, and children who experienced severe side effects after taking the widely-prescribed medication Risperdal. Karen believes in advocating for the victims who’ve been taken advantage of, and helping to ensure drug safety in the face of profit-driven corporations that hide the risks of their products. She has testified twice before FDA advisory boards as well as the California State Legislature on the safety concerns regarding the SSRI antidepressants and the manufacturers’ misconduct.  She has also advised victim advocacy groups in their efforts to inform governmental agencies and legislative bodies of harms caused by corporations.

One of the preeminent personal injury attorneys in the country, Karen frequently publishes and presents on issues involving drug safety, mass tort litigation, FDA reform and federal preemption for both legal organizations (plaintiff and defense) and medical groups.

Litigation Highlights

  • Paxil Birth Defects Litigation – Karen served as court-appointed co-lead/liaison counsel – managed and conducted general liability discovery and case specific discovery on trial cases. Served on the trial team for the first case tried, which resulted in a $2.5 million verdict. Additional confidential settlements achieved on behalf of plaintiffs.
  • In re Paxil Products Liability Litigation – Karen served as court-appointed lead counsel. Early on, achieved an injunction requiring GlaxoSmithKline to take down Paxil ads that said “not-habit forming” and was successful in defeating preemption challenges. Negotiated global case settlement with more than 3,000 individuals submitting claims.